Unable to extend/view computer screen photo on HD TV screen.

I am trying to set up my newly purchased Plugable UGA-2K-A device. I am a novice at this effort. My goal is to display JPG digital photographs that are on my computer on my HD TV screen.

On the TV screen I see the mobile computer cursor and when I right click I see the computer mouse’s drop-down menu on the TV screen’s black background but not anything beyond that–that is none of the other items on the computer screen are visible such as software programs or a photograph.

I have connected my Asus netbook computer model Eee PC 1001PXB with operating system Windows XP Service Pack 3 to my Sony high definition TV model KD-30XS955. My connection is from the computer USB port to the Plugable UGA-2K-A to the UGA adapter to a HDMI cable to the TV HDMI port. I have accessed the automatic download for the Plugable driver, which the computer says is version 6.12.10.501 installed. The computer says the computer screen resolution is 1024 x 600 and the TV screen is 1280 x 720 pixels. Then I downloaded and ran version 5.6 30731.0. This didn’t make any difference in the TV screen view.

I would appreciate any solutions you have. Thanks.

Hi lyle9g,

Thanks for posting! From what you are describing I think the TV screen is set to ‘Extend’ mode (display on the TV is in addition to the laptop screen) while you are expecting to see the display on your laptop duplicated on the TV screen.

If the TV screen is in ‘Extend mode’ you would see the check-box next to “Extend my Windows desktop onto this monitor” selected as in the screenshot give below.

!](https://s3.amazonaws.com/satisfaction-production/s3_images/677089/xpdisplaysettings_inline.png)](https://s3.amazonaws.com/satisfaction-production/s3_images/677089/xpdisplaysettings.png)