TBT3-UDC1 - two brand new ones and neither connects any monitors. Perplexing!

I bought two new TBT3-UDC1 Thunderbolt 3 and USB-C Docking Stations Duel Display with 60W charging. Neither one allows any monitors to work. I am an IT manager and methodically tried many things per below. The Monitor is a brand new ASUS VP228 and the two laptops I am using are A Lenovo P52 and a Lenovo X1 5th Generation. Both have Thunderbolt and the Plugable dock was recognized and approved to always connect.

1. Plugged the monitor directly into the laptop. Worked fine.
  2. Plugged the monitor directly into a different laptop - worked fine.
  3. Plugged the monitor into the Plugable dock with the HDMI cable I was using to connect directly to the laptops and the included Plugable HDMI-to-Display Port adapter - nothing
  4. Swapped the monitor cable from HDMI/the included Plugable HDMI-to-Display Port adapter to a cable with HDMI on one end and a Display Port connector on the other end. Nothing.
  5. Swapped the two Plugable Thunderbolt cables - nothing
  6. Swapped the two Plugable power supplies - nothing
  7. Got a different monitor - a Dell P2213 with a Display Port. Used the enclosed Plugables Display Port adopter with a different HDMI cable - nothing.
  8. Swapped the included Plugables HDMI to Display Port adapter with another one from Plugables - nothing
  9. Finally two hours after all of the above, I find the one DisplayPort-only cable in the entire company and wah-lah, it worked.

So the Plugables enclosed HDMI converters were all junk.

Hope this saves someone a 2-hour headache like I had.

Hello,

Thank you for contacting Plugable support! Sorry to hear about this issue. I’d be more than happy to assist you.

You’d mentioned trying: “Plugged the monitor into the Plugable dock with the HDMI cable I was using to connect directly to the laptops and the included Plugable HDMI-to-Display Port adapter - nothing”