SLOW Ethernet on Apple Silicon MacBooks (M1 and M2)

Hi,

I’ve been using Thunderbolt 3 Dock TBT3-UDZ for the last 18 months with my older Intel MacBooks and Dell Precision 5540 running both Windows and Linux with no issues. Ethernet speeds using the built-in Ethernet port on the dock were receiving 920-940 Mbps (measured using iperf3 to my router).

HOWEVER, when I recently tried using the dock with newer MacBooks (MacBook Pro M1, M2, and MacBook Air M1) I started seeing terribly slow Ethernet speeds of 450-500 Mbps, also measured using iperf3 to my router.

As soon as I switch back to one of my laptops with Intel CPU, everything is working great. But with Apple’s M1 and M2 MacBooks, the Ethernet is actually slower than Wi-Fi.

Same setup, same Thunderbolt 3 cable (the cable that came with the dock), same Ethernet cable and port, and nothing else plugged into the dock (no video or other USB/Thunderbolt devices).

Any ideas what’s going on? Would a firmware update help?

Rebooting the MacBooks does not help. Rebooting the dock does not help. Rebooting router, switch, and other network devices does not help.

Details for OS and hardware of MacBooks experiencing slow Ethernet using TBT3-UDZ dock:

• MacBook Pro M1 Pro running macOS Sonoma 14.5
  • MacBook Air M1 running macOS Sonoma 14.5
  • MacBook Pro M2 Pro running macOS Ventura 13.6.7

The dock works well on these laptops:

• MacBook Pro Intel (2019) running macOS Monterey 12.7
  • Dell Precision 5540 running Microsoft Windows 11 version 23H2
  • Dell Precision 5540 running Linux 6.8.0 (Ubuntu 22.04)

Hello,

Thank you for contacting Plugable support! Sorry to hear about this issue. I’d be more than happy to assist you.