Pluggable UD-3000 USB 3.0 Docking Station -- WIFI Bandwidth Reduction (5X slower) -- (on Surface Pro 3)

Simply put, Pluggable USB 3.0 Docking Station is causing a reduction in internet connectivity over WIFI.

I use this device in union with Microsoft’s Surface Pro 3.

I have been putting blame on Microsoft for about 6 months now for the WIFI connectivity issues. I even relocated the WIFI router in my house to several different locations, in an attempt to get a stronger signal.

I discovered that when I run a speedtest on a website like speedtest.net, I would get about 5x faster speeds when Pluggable UD-3000 was unplugged.

I tried plugging in several other USB devices, including other USB 3.0 devices, into the Surface pro 3. I could not duplicate the reduction in speed with any other device.

The Pluggable UD-3000 device is definitely responsible for the reduction in my WIFI connectivity speed.

Please address this problem. I will post a video on youtube to demonstrate the issue if someone requests it of me.

Hi Matt,

Thanks for posting. I’m sorry the docking station is affecting your Wi-Fi performance. I’d be happy to help.

There can be a lot of factors at play when it comes to Radio Frequency devices like Wi-Fi adapters, but usually the type of behavior you’re describing is caused by interference between the wireless card in your Surface and the USB 3.0 hub chipset in the dock, as both devices operate in the 2.4GHz spectrum. This can potentially happen with any USB 3.0 docking station, not just ones made by Plugable.

In these cases, most of our customers have had positive results experimenting with re-positioning things on their desk to try to minimize interference.

Apple has a pretty good article up regarding potential causes of interference, if you’re interested:
http://support.apple.com/kb/ht1365

Intel also has a very thorough technical whitepaper covering USB 3.0 interference as well:
http://www.intel.com/content/www/us/e…