Pluggable dock repeatedly reconnects during fast charging

Issue: My Plugable dock (UD-ULTC4K) repeatedly reconnects whenever the current charge percentage is less than 80%. I have a 16-inch 2021 Macbook Pro with the M1 Pro chip. Once it finally gets to 80%, it stays connected and works fine.

I believe this is happening because the dock cannot handle the wattage that the laptop is drawing when fast charging. This laptop comes with a 96W Apple charger (which I am not using). The Plugable dock is also rated for 96W, so I think it may not be able to support what it’s rated for, perhaps the dock I received is defective or the advertised rating is inaccurate. I have been using this dock for 8 months now, so the issue is not going to resolve by itself. I have DisplayLink Manager 1.7.1 installed.

Is this a known issue? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

1 Like

Hello,

Thank you for contacting Plugable support! Sorry to hear about this issue with the dock disconnecting while charging. I’d be more than happy to assist you.

This is not a known issue and the UD-UTLC4K dock is not expected to have trouble charging up to the full 96W output. (We regularly use the UD-ULTC4K with an M1 Max 16" for testing purposes for example.) It’s possible the dock could be defective and simply needs to be replaced, but I’d like to ask a few quick questions just in case something may stand out:

1. Has this issue been happening the entire 8 months of ownership or did this develop over time?

2. Also to check are you connecting the dock using the original USB-C to USB-C cable and power adapter that originally shipped with the dock?

3. When the dock disconnects/reconnects does it look like the whole dock is dropping (so video, charging, and USB data, etc) or do only some functions seem to drop off while others continue working?

4. If you connect the dock to a different USB-C port on the Mac, is the behavior still the same?