Monitor not detectd when plugged into docking station

I have two (different sized) Sceptre monitors, an Acer computer, and OMARS docking station. When I plug either monitor into my laptop using an HDMI cord, the monitors work fine. When I plug the monitors into the docking station, the monitors turn on, but the message “No signal … please check your input” appears on the monitor. I’ve tried plugging in only one monitor into the docking station, but the same thing happens. I do not have this problem when I plug in my Dell work laptop. I’ve read some replies suggesting to unplug the docking station, but my docking station doesn’t have a power cord (??), only the USB-C cord that’s attached to the docking station and gets plugged into the laptop. Unfortunately, I am NOT tech savvy, so feel free to use basic computer instructions if possible. Thanks for your help.

Hi,

Thank you for contacting Plugable, I am sorry, we are not the manufacturer of the OMARS docking station and I am unable to provide support for third party products. I recommend contacting the manufacturer through the point of sales for this adapter.

Many Acer computers do not support USB-C DisplayPort Alternate Mode required for this and similar USB-C docking stations or graphics adapters.

If you would let me know the specific model of Acer notebook I can look up the specifications to see which of our Plugable products will be compatible with this system.

1. Open the Start Menu and search for “msinfo32” and launch the first search result
  2. Please let me know the values from the following entries ( on the right column ):
    2a) “System Model”
    2b) “System SKU”
  3. Please feel free to attach a screenshot of this window to your reply email if you prefer by using the Windows Snipping Tool ( from the Start Menu search for “Snipping” ) and I can get the details from there

Thank you for these additional details, I look forward to your reply and we can go from here.

Pat
Plugable Technology