Max power in? Max power out? AC vs USB? Higher rated AC adapter?

Hello there! I’ve had the 10 port usb hub for a while now and it’s been great. Now I’m looking to see how far it can go.

First off, if I know the power supply is rated at 5V and 2.5Amps. If I had a higher 5V power supply (say 3Amps), would it add more power to be distributed throughout the 10 ports (I understand the 500mA max per port)? Or would it even work? Or damage the product?

Can I use a usb male to power plug barrel cable to add/supply power from a USB port to the hub? I just got this: http://www.amazon.com/EasyAcc%C2%AE-1… , which has a max total output of 3.5A, amongst four ports, one port having a 2.1A out?

What is the max USB power in that the port can draw and distribute?

And what if I started playing around with Y cables to try and add current? Especially if it’s already acting as a data connection as well…

Thanks for the great support you guys!

Also, specifically, I’m trying to use this with a Raspberry Pi + the USB power brick I mentioned above + many assorted USB devices. Power has 4 ports, one powers RPi, one (or more with Y cable?) powers the hub somehow, I don’t yet have a USB to AC barrel cable yet, may splice my own

Does this hub “backpower” devices?

I believe this means, if you plug the data out of a device into the hub data in of the hub, it sends power back to the data source and can power it as well. Specifically, with the raspberry pi i hear this is dangerous. See the section on back powering here http://elinux.org/RPi_Hardware

Conversely, can the USB hub receive additional power from into one of its ports *other than* the data port/computer port (via a USB male to male cable…)?

At the moment, I’m trying the following set up: