MAC address changing on my usb 3.0 station


#1

An App for my PC Spalsh top to show my IPhone on my windows 10 pc is claiming that my MAC address has changed. I connect my Lenovo yoga 900 to my home LAN thru the NIC on the USB 3.0 dock. I have updated the drivers on the pc and downloaded the firmware updated for my dock. The software will not work not since it think I am moving it to another pc. Any help please.


#2

Hi Matthew,

Thank you for reaching out to us, I am sorry that you are experiencing this issue, but I would be happy to assist.

When utilizing and installing DisplayLink technology, the drivers and software cannot access or modify the MAC address of your device. Most likely what is occurring is the software is seeing the MAC address for your Wifi and the MAC address associated with the DisplayLink dock at the same time.

Try disabling Wifi first, and then connecting view Ethernet to see if the issue is persisting.

Thank you for your patience,
Marc
Product Owner & Technical Support
www.plugable.com/support


#3

Hi Everyone,

We attempted to reach out to Matthew regarding the issue he was experiencing, but we have not received a response back yet.

If you are dealing with similar issues, please feel free to send a direct email to our support email at support@plugable.com. We would be happy to assist!

Thank you for your time,
Marc
Product Owner & Technical Support
www.plugable.com/support


#4

This is Matthew I did read the email and will try the suggestion next week will be a travel week so my laptop will come out of the DOCK. I will update if that did not work.


#5

Hi Matthew,

Thank you for getting back to us! Let me know if you have any additional questions regarding the instructions, or if you experience any additional issues.

Thank you for your patience,
Marc
Product Owner & Technical Support
www.plugable.com/support


#6

Hi Matthew,

I just wanted to check back in and see if you were able to take some time and work through the troubleshooting steps we talked about in previous posts, as well as send over your PlugDebug output to us.

Let me know if you have any questions!

Thank you for your time,
Marc
Product Owner & Technical Support
www.plugable.com/support


#7

Hi Everyone,

We attempted to reach out to Matthew via this post, as well as via email. We have not received a response to these attempts, but hope that we can help resolve the issue when he has more free time for troubleshooting, and can reach back out to us.

If anyone has any of the same symptoms, please feel free to contact us at support@plugable.com, and we will do our best to help work through the issue.

Thank you for your time,
Marc
Product Owner & Technical Support
www.plugable.com/support


#8