I have an Acer TravelMate 1640 (No dedicated Docking Station available) and I would like to use a Plugable UD-160-A port replicator to hook up my peripherals.

1 - Will a UD160A work with Ubuntu 11.10?
2 - Does it need additional configuring to get this to work?
3 - If so, is there a how-to if I need back-up ( I have some Linux experience, but I am not a programmer)

W.r.t. query 3: Forgot to mention that i have seen your Howto: DisplayLink USB Single Monitor on Linux

Hi rg.rjsdam,

Thanks for your query regarding our UD-160-A and Ubuntu 11.10. Ubuntu will will automatically detect and install the Ethernet, USB and Audio ports. The DisplayLink Graphics output will require some configuring. Exactly what you’ll need depends on your desired setup. For a single display the blog post you reference above is correct, for other setups it’s more complicated.

Can you say more about how you’d like to use the UD-160-A? Specifically the display setup you want.

Thanks for your question,
Jerome.

Plugable Technologies

Hello Jerome,

Thank you for your feedback.

I will hook up a Targa Visionary 22’ 1680 x 1050 TFT LCD monitor. System will be used for office, web surfing and now and then watch video footage. No heavy gaming.
I am aware that video sometimes will lag, but I’m Ok with that.
I take it that a USB 3.0 version is not yet just around the bend, or I would have seen some announcement on your website.

The UD-160-A still seems not available on Amazon Uk - Is that due to different prong style?
I live in the Netherlands so all wall sockets are common EU style. In another post I read that by then you were only selling them with powersupply with US prongs.
For me that will be acceptable, since in NL prong converters are marketed for under US$ 5.- each.
Voltage here is 230 V 50c/s wich should work for UD-160-A