X Mode or text Mode for a laptop screen with attached Plugable seat(s)

All the Fedora linux multiseat examples I have seen show each seat built around a Plugable unit. Can you attach a plugable seat to a laptop and run x on both the builtin display and attached plugable seat? Is the Laptops internal display limited to text Mode, while plugable seats are attached?

I understand a Text mode " console " login would use less system horsepower. Must one choose Single Seat, Console X, or Multiseat Plugable X. I am new to Linux. I don’t know if Plugable X seats can run alongside Old school, Console x. The Power of a plugable Seat is clear, within the limits of USB 2.0 I/O. What remains unclear is one can do on the original, built-in keyboard and screen. Must one lose MultiSeat attachments to watch video on the builtin Screen?

Hi Jeffrey,

Thanks for asking! What you would expect is that you would have your “built-in” seat (built-in GPU-attached display, keyboard, mouse), and then by adding a USB-attached seat (a Plugable http://plugable.com/products/dc-125/ or http://plugable.com/products/ud-160-m/) would get a 2nd login screen.

Unfortunately, our experience is that the primary seat works on some systems, but not others. For reliability, you’ll want to go with al -USB terminals, and leave the primary display as a console for error logs and administration.

What’s happening on some systems is seat0 (the primary, built-in seat) launches X + GDM as expected, however on others seat0 drops to a text mode console either immediately, or when an error occurs.

We don’t know why results haven’t been consistent – the cause seems to be a combination of DRM vs. fbdev driver issues, fbcon issues, and different updated versions of Fedora 17 components.